tt ads

The driver who accumulates the most points in a Formula 1 World Championship season is awarded the Formula 1 Drivers’ World Championship.

Formula 1 has produced some of the greatest athletes and legends. There will always be an argument as to who is the best F1 driver, but here are some of the best F1 drivers of all time.

Michael Schumacher, the living legend and the greatest Formula 1 driver, is the winner of 7 world championships in 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, and 2004. Besides winning the maximum championship, his other records include fastest laps and ma maximum number of races won in a single season. Schumacher is the only F1 driver to have made history by finishing in the top three in every race in a season. The official Formula One website cites him as “statistically the greatest driver the sport has ever seen”.

Ayrton Senna, was the most successful and leading driver of the modern era. Senna, who unfortunately lost his life in an accident at the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix, won three championships in 1988, 1990, and 1991. During his short career, he was celebrated for his speed in qualifying over one lap and his performances in rainy weather. He held the record for most pole positions for the period 1989-2006.

Juan Manuel Fangio, ruled the first decade of Formula One racing, having won the world championship five times in 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957. This record was unbroken for 47 years until it was broken by Michael Schumacher. Fangio also holds the record for reserving the highest winning percentage (46.15) in Formula 1, winning 24 races out of 52 in which he participated.

Niki Lauda, three-time F1 world champion, won the races in 1975, 1977 and 1984. He is the only accomplished driver to have won the championship for both Ferrari and McLaren.

Alain Prost is the four-time F1 world champion. He held the record of maximum Grand Prix conquests in the period 1987-2001. Of the total 202 races in which he participated, Prost won 52 of them. In 1999, he received the World Sports Awards of the Century in the motorsports category.

Sebastian Vettel, one of the most successful F1 drivers, is a four-time winner of the F1 World Championship in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. In 2009, Vettel became the youngest driver ever to win the world title a runner-up. He also became the youngest driver to win his first world title in 2010.

Constructors Championship Award

The constructor who accumulates the most points in a Formula 1 World Championship season is awarded the Formula 1 World Constructors Championship. The different cases for the award of this title are -.

If the chassis and engine of a car are built by the same company, then the brand of the car is the name of that one manufacturer. Ex: Toyota, Ferrari, etc. and the constructors championship is awarded to that one constructor.

If the chassis and engine of a car are made up of two separate units, then the brand of the car is also considered two separate brands and the points are scored individually. E.g.: Lotus-Climax McLaren-Mercedes etc. In this case the Constructors Championship goes to the chassis manufacturer.

tt ads